Career Technical Education and Regional Occupational Program

  • CTE and ROP courses at Colton High School will provide you with real world 21st century skills that make you career and college ready. Many of these courses meet a-g requirements necessary for entrance into the UC college system and/or are eligible for community college credit through articulation agreements.

    Career Technical Education provides you  with not only career and academic skills, but soft skills that are needed for the modern workplace, such as: critical thinking; communication; teamwork; citizenship, integrity, and ethical leadership; research tools; creativity; and innovation. 

    Students also have the opportunity to participate in career technical student organizations such as FCCLA (Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America) and Skills USA.  These organizations help students develop their leadership skills and network with other high school students.

    cte

     

    Colton High School offers courses and pathways in the following industry sectors:

    Industry Sector

    Teacher(s)

    Course(s)

    Manufacturing and Product Development

    Tom Wurz

    tom_wurz@cjusd.net

    *Graphic Communications

    Engineering and Design

    Kevin Bice

    kevin_bice@cjusd.net

    *STEAM

    Fashion and Interior Design

    Jenifer Poulsen

    jenifer_poulsen@cjusd.net

    *Life Management

    *Fashion, Textiles and Apparel Construction

    *Fashion Design and Merchandising (coming Fall 2018)

    Finance and Business

     

    Marketing, Sales and Service

    Jennifer Wymer

    jennifer_wymer@cjusd.net

    *Introduction to Business *Marketing, Sales and Service

    Health Science and Medical Technology

    Dawna Hughes

    dawna_hughes@cjusd.net

    Healthcare Education And Leadership Pathway

    *Medical Terminology

    *Medical Services

    *ROP Nutrition

    Mike Sola

    mike_sola@cjusd.net

    *Sports Medicine

    Hospitality, Tourism and Recreation

    Kathleen Dickerson

    kathleen_dickerson@cjusd.net

     

    Jennifer Wymer

    jennifer_wymer@cjusd.net

     

    Culinary Arts and Hospitality Pathway

    *Food and Nutrition

    *Hospitality Marketing

    *Culinary 1

    *Culinary 2 (coming Fall 2018)

    Information Technology

    Bruce Ingram

    bruce_ingram@cjusd.net

    *ROP GIS Fundamentals

    *ROP Digital Business Communications

    Manufacturing and Product Development

    Chris Barta

    chris_barta@cjusd.net

    Welding Pathway

    *Welding Occupations 1

    *Welding Occupations 2

    *Welding Occupations 3/4    

    Transportation

    Angelina Alcantar

    angelina_alcantar@cjusd.net

    *Auto General Service Tech. 1

    *Auto General Service Tech. 2

    *Auto General Service Tech. 3/4